Breaking: Buratai, others removed, as Buhari appoints new service chiefs

By Sunday Iduh

President Muhammadu Buhari has removed service chiefs, following several months of outcry over worsening insecurity in the country.

This was contained in a statement by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina and made available to newmen Tuesday in Abuja.

Those involved are the Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin;  Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

According to the statement, President Buhari thanked the out-going Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country.”

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The statement further said, “the President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top