Govt bans use of motorcycles in parts of Taraba

By Uzer Moses

The Executive Governor of Taraba state, Arch. Darius Ishaku has approved the ban on the use of motorcycles in three local government areas in the state

In a press statement signed by his Chief Press Secretary, Iliya Bekyu Akweh and made available to newsmen recently, Takum, Donga and Wukari are the affected local governments.

The statement which mentions Chanchanji, Kofai Ahmadu, Kunkunu, Dogon-gawa, Tor-Tsee, Gbaondo as major towns affected in Takum local government also says Tor-Damsa town in Donga local government is among the places  affected.

Meanwhile, in Wukari local government, Rafin-Kara, Tor-Iorsha, Tor-Musa, Chonku Chiefdom, Assa Chiefdom, Va’ase, Gbeji (Taraba), Ikyaor, Jenikura, Kente and Sondi are the major towns the ban emphasises.

The statement charges security agencies such as the Army, the Police, Department of State Security (DSS), Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC) and the Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC) to enforce the order and ensure its full implementation by arresting and prosecuting violators.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top