Moro distributes food items, toiletries to Agatu flood victims

By Egbe Attah

The Senator representing Benue South Senatorial District, Sen. Abba Moro, has distributed food items and toiletries to communities ravaged by flood in Agatu Local Government Area of Benue State.

The Voice gathered that hundreds of people have been displaced from their homes in Agatu by ravaging floods which destroyed property worth millions of naira.

Sen. Moro, moved by the plight of the people, dispatched a high-powered delegation, led by his Legislative Aide 1, Barr Joy Okpainmo, for on-the-spot-assessment of the damage caused by the floods and took delivery of the items to those affected, to cushion the effect of the disaster.

A statement by one of the senator’s aides, Samson Otokpa, accessed by The Voice on Wednesday, quotes his principal as saying he was touched seeing his constituents living in very bad condition in emergency Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) camps. He added that his thoughts and prayers were with them and promised to work assiduously to see that the reoccurring incident of flooding in Agatu is limited and possibly brought to a total end.

According to the statement, the senator said he had taken steps in that direction by sponsoring the North Central Development Commission Bill, which has an objective of dredging of the River Benue, to ensure that water meant to sip out of the river to cause flooding is naturally directed upwards.

The Voice gathered that Barr Okpainmo, while addressing the victims few days ago said that Sen. Moro was already speaking with relevant government agencies like National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) and the Federal Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management to come to the aid of the affected people.

Items distributed included bags of rice, cartons of seasonings, cartons of tomato paste and detergent among others, jointly donated with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) House of Representatives candidate for Apa-Agatu Federal Constituency, Pastor Ojotu Ojema.

The affected communities include Oweto, Utugolgwu, Obishu, Olegodegbe, Olegoga, Inoli, Ologba, Alokpa, Olegeje, Adana, Agbobe, Ocholonya, Akpeko, Ebete, Ogwumogbo, Ejima, Gega, Inmiyi, Igah and Gishu, The Voice learnt.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top