Reminiscing FIFA’s birth

By Akpera Nase
May 21st, 1904 remains Memorable in the ears of soccer followers across the globe: On this date the Federation International Football Association (FIFA) was founded by seven Pioneer countries.
These notable countries include France Netherlands, Sweden, Spain, Switzerland, Denmark and Belgium, who came together to form common Umbrella to Co-ordinate and harmonise the game of Football among themselves and the rest of the world.
It is worth to mention that at present FIFA has up to 211 Member Association split into Six Confederations namely:- (CAF) Confederation of Africa Football, (UEFA) Union of European Football Confederation.
CONCAF- Confederation of North Central and Caribbean’s Association, OFC- Oceania Football Confederation and COMOBEL- confederation suda Americana, De Futebol.
From 1904 to date FIFA has been headed by nine (9) Presidents.
They includes Robert Guerin (France), Daniel Barley Wolfall (England), Jules Rimet (France), Rodolphe Williams Drayars (Belgium), Arthur Drewry (England), Sir Stanley Rouse (England), Joao Hawelange (Brazil), Joseph Sepp Blatter (Switzerland) and Gianai Fantino respectively.
Available FIFA record shows that among the founding member Nations, are the National teams of France and Spain that have won the FIFA Senior world Cup for their respective Countries. Since the Maiden edition in 1930 that was hosted and won by Uruguay.
VoiceSports research from the FIFA Archives reveals that Current FIFA World Cup holders France hosted and won in 1998 and Russia 2018 edition. While Spain Kissed the trophy once at the 2010 FIFA World Cup hosted by South Africa. While the trophy remains elusive for the five other Countries jostling to enter history book.
Egypt in the first African Country to participate in the FIFA World Cup in the second edition hosted by Italy in 1938.The Pharaohs lost the only game they played 2-4 to Hungary.
Furthermore, at the 1938 World Cup in Italy, the entire Romanian National team was not selected by a Coach, but by the reigning Monach – King Carol.
It is amazing that legendry Rodger Milla of Cameroon is the oldest player to score in all the FIFA World Cups he played. ESPANA’82, ITALIA’ 90 and USA’ 94. At USA 94′ Milla was 42 years 39 days when he scored the only goal in Cameroon’s 1-6 whitewash of Russia on June 28, 1994 when USA hosted that edition.
However, the youngest player ever to feature for his Country for the World Cup qualifiers is Edson Arante Do Nascimento (Pele) of Brazil,
He made his debut for his Country at when he was 16 years old. On July 7th, 1957 he came off the bench and scored Brazils only Goal in their 1-2 homes lost to Argentina.
The goal was first of his 111 goals in 97 appearances for Brazil. He further won the three FIFA World Cup for Brazil at Sweden’ 58, when Pele was 17 years old, Chile’ 62 and the at Mexico’70, FIFA Word Cup respectively.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top